Press Releases


f t # e
Washington, December 10, 2014 | Erin Moffet Hale (561-253-8433) | comments

This week, U.S. Representative Patrick E. Murphy (FL-18) joined with U.S. Representatives Mario Diaz-Balart (FL-25), Ted Deutch (FL-21), and Bill Johnson (OH-06) to lead a coalition of over 80 Members of Congress from both sides of the aisle in calling on the United Nations (UN) to take decisive action against the global surge in anti-Semitism. Today, Murphy spoke on the House floor about this major bipartisan effort and the urgent need for the UN to join the United States in condemning anti-Semitism and combating such hateful demonstrations wherever they occur, and that the UN must encourage Member States to take action against anti-Semitism in their own countries.  (Please find attached a copy of the letter and click here to view the Congressman's floor remarks).

December 8, 2014

H.E. Ban Ki-Moon
Secretary-General of the United Nations

Dear Secretary-General Ban:

We write to express our deep concern about the alarming rise in anti-Semitic incidents across the globe and to commend you for your recent remarks speaking out against this troubling surge.  Anti-Semitism poses a severe threat to international peace and security.  We urge you to call on United Nations officials and Member States to take immediate measures to stem this violent tide of intolerance and take decisive action against anti-Semitism.

As you are aware, anti-Semitic violence and incitement has increased dramatically over the past year.  Crimes range from the desecration of synagogues and other Jewish institutions and businesses, to murder and acts of violence and terrorism against Jews.  Anti-Semitic rhetoric is circulated widely on television, radio, and the Internet, all while some countries are experiencing a disturbing rise of local and national political parties openly espousing racist and anti-Semitic views.

By allowing anti-Semitism to flourish, nations risk fostering an environment in which violence and escalating tensions can grow and impact not only Jews but all ethnic, religious, and other minority groups.

We urge the United Nations to take action against these intolerant forces and bigoted incidents of anti-Semitism.  By working with Member States, the United Nations can stem the surge of anti-Semitism through a variety of methods including raising awareness of the global prevalence of anti-Semitic attitudes and urging adoption, implementation, and enforcement of strong hate crime laws.  The United Nations can also expand education on diversity and tolerance and encourage heads of state to forcefully speak out about the dangers of anti-Semitism.

We ask not only that Member States be pressed to denounce violent outbreaks of hate and bigotry, but that you also speak out against biases present within the United Nations.  Only by working together can we successfully stem the rise of anti-Semitism and all forms of hate wherever they occur.

Patrick E. Murphy
Member of Congress

Mario Diaz-Balart
Member of Congress

Ted Deutch
Member of Congress

Bill Johnson
Member of Congress

Additional co-signers on this letter include Reps. Michele Bachmann, Ami Bera, Gus Bilirakis, Robert Brady, Corrine Brown, Kathy Castor, David Cicilline, Emanuel Cleaver, Steve Cohen, John Conyers Jr., Joseph Crowley, Susan Davis, Suzan DelBene, Keith Ellison, Eliot Engel, Elizabeth Esty, Chaka Fattah, Mike Fitzpatrick, Lois Frankel, Trent Franks, Pete Gallego, Joe Garcia, Bob Gibbs, Alan Grayson, Al Green, Brett Guthrie, Alcee L. Hastings, Mike Honda, Brian Higgins, Jim Himes, Steve Israel, Sheila Jackson Lee, Hakeem Jeffries, Dave Joyce, Mike Kelly, Robin L. Kelly, Derek Kilmer, Leonard Lance, Jim Langevin, Bob Latta, Rick Larsen, Barbara Lee, Sandy Levin, Dave Loebsack, Alan Lowenthal, Nita Lowey, Carolyn Maloney, Doris O. Matsui, James McGovern, David McKinley, Gregory Meeks, Grace Meng, Jerrold Nadler, Alan Nunnelee, Gary Peters, Scott Peters, Mike Quigley, Charles Rangel, Illeana Ros-Lehtinen, Tim Ryan, John Sarbanes, Jan Schakowsky, Adam Schiff, Allyson Schwartz, David Schweikert, José Serrano, Kyrsten Sinema, Albio Sires, Steve Stivers, Eric Swalwell, Dina Titus, Paul Tonko, Chris Van Hollen, Juan Vargas, Marc Veasey, Filemon Vela, Nydia Velázquez, Jackie Walorksi, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Henry Waxman, Randy Weber, Frederica Wilson, Frank Wolf, and John Yarmuth.

Click here for more information on the Congressman's continued work on this important issue.


f t # e